top of page

Synopsis

Sunflower Cover.jpg

An unsettling, immersive, and wildly entertaining debut novel from an exciting new voice in horror for fans of Paul Tremblay and Stephen Graham Jones.

After publishing his debut novel, The Shattered Man, to disappointing sales and reviews, Campbell P. Marion is struggling to find inspiration for a follow-up. When Edenville College invites him to join as a writer-in-residence, he’s convinced that his bad luck has finally taken a turn. His girlfriend Quinn isn’t so sure—she grew up near Edenville and has good reasons for not wanting to move back. Cam disregards her skepticism and accepts the job, with Quinn reluctantly following along.

But there’s something wrong in Edenville. Despite the charming old ladies milling about Main Street and picturesque sunflowers dotting the sidewalks, poison lurks beneath the surface. As a series of strange and ominous events escalate among Edenville and its residents, Cam and Quinn find themselves entangled in a dark and disturbing history.

Told with equal parts horror and humor, Edenville explores the urban legends that fuel our nightmares and the ways in which ambition can overshadow our best instincts. Sam Rebelein is an exciting, sharp new voice, sure to terrify readers for years to come.

Praise

"There are many campus horror novels, but I think Edenville gets an A for AAAAAAIIIIIII! Sam Rebelein should be awarded a Masters Degree in SCARY. A major new talent!" — R.L. Stine, author of Goosebumps and Fear Street

 

"Edenville marks a riveting debut that positions Rebelein as a noteworthy talent in the horror genre...an essential read for horror enthusiasts, especially fans of Grady Hendrix and Paul Tremblay." — Booklist

"[D]ebut author Sam Rebelein satisfyingly combines scares with humor as a struggling author moves to the unsettling town of Edenville." — Library Journal

"In Edenville, there's a captivating and equally irresistible kind of frenetic intensity pulsing from each and every page—the raw, powerful energy of a new, uninhibited talent in horror fiction. Sam Rebelein possesses the skillset of a venerated master and Edenville is a truly imaginative debut." — Eric LaRocca, author of Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke

“Rebelein sprinkles his wild and unpredictable narrative with pop culture references and a gleeful smattering of profanity, setting his voice apart.” — Publishers Weekly

"Rebelein’s debut is its own wild and woolly beast, frequently unpredictable and frankly utterly insane at times. I feel like Rebelein and I must’ve ingested a lot of the same weird stuff as a kid—stuff like Goosebumps, Eerie Indiana, Barnes & Engle’s Strange Matter. I hope I get to go back to Renfield County again, before too long." — Lit Hub

"Quirky, compelling, creepily and cosmically inventive, Sam Rebelein's first novel plants its feet firmly, squares its shoulders, and swings for the fences.  The mighty CRACK you hear is the sound of his walk-off home run.  Edenville is the kind of debut every writer hopes for, thrilling and satisfying in its own right, while simultaneously whetting the reader's appetite for what comes next." — John Langan, author of Corpsemouth and Other Autobiographies

“The mundane horrors of rural and academic living collide with pure cosmic weirdness in Sam Rebelein’s Edenville. Not since Jason Pargin’s John Dies at the End have I been so horrified and grossed out by a book, nor have I gleefully whispered “what the fuck” so much while turning the pages. I could say more, but honestly, the less you know about this book, the better. A fantastic debut. Go Crows!”

— Todd Keisling, Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Devil’s Creek and Cold, Black & Infinite

Coming 10/03/23

Click any of the links below to

pre-order Edenville:

"Edenville is a delightfully gooey blend of gothic, cosmic, folk and body horror churned by a sharp-bladed critique of academia." — Lucy A. Snyder, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of Sister, Maiden, Monster

"Nobody is writing the uncanny like Sam Rebelein. Edenville is an immersive, visceral, unsettling metafictional tale that lures you into the shadows, and then slowly expands your mind to the horrors that were always there. It's Chuck Palahniuk mixed with Clive Barker and Stephen Graham Jones to create a funny, heartbreaking, original piece of fiction." — Richard Thomas, author of Spontaneous Human Combustion, a Bram Stoker finalist

"A mind-bending experience, Edenville is a transportive read that burrows down into the center of your mind and refuses to let go. There’s beauty and squick in these pages, and at its core, a whole lotta fun." — Kristi DeMeester, author of Such a Pretty Smile

"Edenville is a tour de force of horror writing. The eerie atmosphere and building intensity will have you on the edge of your seat, while the sharply drawn characters and nightmarish imagery will keep you hooked from start to finish. Fans of Clive Barker and Stephen King at the peak of their powers won't want to miss this one.” — Tim Waggoner, author of A Hunter Called Night

"Edenville reinvents the small-town scary story as an onslaught of comedy, horror, and grotesquerie. Great, blood-curdling fun." — Stephanie Feldman, author of Saturnalia

"Sam Rebelein's Edenville is pure cosmic gonzo...This jaw-dropping -- apologies, jaw-ripping -- novel earns its place amongst contemporary classics The Library at Mount Char and The Book of Accidents. You won't read anything quite like it... not in our universe, anyway." — Clay McLeod Chapman, author of Ghost Eaters

bottom of page